How do you get a copy of your crash report?
Ask the agency that investigated. Roanoke City takes requests through an online form on its website. Roanoke County and Salem police release their own. If a state trooper investigated, request the report from the Virginia DMV.

A crash report is the police record of what happened: the people, the vehicles, the place and the officer's notes. Insurers read it, and you will want your own copy. Here is how to ask for it.
Which agency has your report?
Look at the card or report number the officer gave you. The agency named on it holds the report.
| Where it happened | Agency | How to request | Cost | How long |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roanoke City | Roanoke City Police | Online Traffic Accident Report Request Form on the city website | Not stated on the city page | Not stated on the city page |
| Roanoke County | Roanoke County Police Records Division | Call (540) 777-8605, or use the online Request for Public Records | no charge for citizens | Not stated |
| Salem | Salem Police Department | Call (540) 375-3083 and ask for a Records Clerk | $10 | Usually 24 to 48 hours after the officer finishes |
| State trooper responded | Virginia DMV | Form CRD 93 by mail, fax or in person | $8 per report | Not stated |
Ask early, and ask the agency how long yours will take.
How do you get a Roanoke City report?
Roanoke City (opens in a new tab) uses an online Traffic Accident Report Request Form. The form is for traffic crash reports only. It asks for:
- your name
- your relationship to the incident
- the incident number
- the date
The city page does not state a fee or how long a report takes, so ask the agency if you need either.
How do you get a Roanoke County report?
The Roanoke County Police Records Division (opens in a new tab) handles copies. You can call (540) 777-8605 or send an online Request for Public Records. The county says there is no charge for citizens.
For other police reports, you pick them up in person at the police department with a photo ID, such as a driver's license or U.S. passport. When you call, have these ready:
- date and time of the crash
- location
- names of the people involved
- the officer's name
Insurers can get reports through the DMV. For county police contact details, see our Roanoke County page.
How do you get a Salem report?
Salem Police (opens in a new tab) says a crash report is usually available 24 to 48 hours after the officer completes it. The fee is $10. Call (540) 375-3083 and ask for a Records Clerk. The department is at 36 East Calhoun Street, Salem, VA 24153. Details are on our Salem page.

How do you get a report from the Virginia DMV?
If a state trooper investigated, or you cannot find the local agency, ask the Virginia DMV (opens in a new tab).
- Submit either a written request or a completed Information Request Form (CRD 93), along with your payment.
- Pay $8 per report. The fee is returned if no report is found.
- Send it one of these ways:
- Mail (check or money order only): Customer Records Work Center, Room 514, Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, Post Office Box 27412, Richmond, VA 23269.
- Fax: (804) 367-0390, with the License, ID Card and Records Payment Authorization form (DMS 004).
- In person: by appointment or at any customer service center on a day it is open. Cash, check, money order or credit card are accepted.
The DMV stores crash data for at least 36 months and sends reports by first-class mail.
What is on a Virginia accident report, and who can get one?
A report records what the officer found at the scene. The DMV releases the complete report to people involved in the crash or their authorized representatives. That includes:
- drivers, passengers and injured persons
- vehicle or property owners
- personal representatives
- attorneys and authorized insurance representatives
- parents or guardians of an injured or killed minor
What if the report has a mistake?
Start by calling the agency that wrote it and ask what it allows. A lawyer can also advise you.
What should you do next?
- Read the report and compare it to your notes.
- Keep a copy in your folder. See your first 72 hours checklist.
- Check your dates with the deadline checker.
Common questions
How long does a crash report take in Virginia?
It depends on the agency. Salem Police says a report is usually available 24 to 48 hours after the officer completes it. For Roanoke City and Roanoke County, ask the agency how long yours will take. The DMV page gives no processing time, so allow for mail.
How much is a Roanoke police accident report?
The city's request page does not state a fee, so ask the agency before you rely on a figure. Roanoke County says there is no charge for citizens. Salem charges $10. The Virginia DMV charges $8 per report, returned if no report is found.
Can I get a report online?
For Roanoke City crashes, yes: the city has an online Traffic Accident Report Request Form. Roanoke County lets you start a Request for Public Records online or call its Records Division. Salem asks you to call and speak with a Records Clerk. The DMV page describes mail, fax and in-person requests, not an online option.
What if State Police handled my crash?
Request the report from the Virginia DMV, which keeps crash data for at least 36 months. Send a written request or the Information Request Form (CRD 93), with your payment. Our guide lists the address, the fax option and the in-person option too.
Last reviewed · Reviewed by the roanokecrashhelp editorial team